14.09.23

582359_482980451741003_1968386669_n

“If you’re going to try, go all the way. Otherwise, don’t even start. This could mean losing girlfriends, wives, relatives and maybe even your mind. It could mean not eating for three or four days. It could mean freezing on a park bench. It could mean jail. It could mean derision. It could mean mockery–isolation. Isolation is the gift. All the others are a test of your endurance, of how much you really want to do it. And, you’ll do it, despite rejection and the worst odds. And it will be better than anything else you can imagine. If you’re going to try, go all the way. There is no other feeling like that. You will be alone with the gods, and the nights will flame with fire. You will ride life straight to perfect laughter. It’s the only good fight there is.”

-Charles Bukowski, Factotum

The only constant in life is change. Change is inevitable. Change is good.

With that in mind, I announce my resignation from CrossFit Central and The Fittest Games.

Five years ago this month, I officially began shadowing at a small garage on Burnet Road in Austin, TX. That gym was CrossFit Central. I was enamored by the people, by the place and by the community. The people there became my friends and eventually my family.

I am proud of my time with Central and am grateful for the opportunity to have learned and coached under and around some of the best in the business. My hope is that we will continue to support each other in the future.

I wish nothing but the best for the Double C’s as a company and for the people behind the C’s. I can say without hesitation or doubt that I have given 100% of my heart, soul, sweat, blood and tears for that gym and community. If I could, I wouldn’t change a thing.

Over time, people grow and change. Situations and circumstances change. Worldviews change. Movement is the natural course of life, and dreams are meant to be pursued.

I am excited about what the future holds and the opportunities that lay ahead. I know that no matter what, my friends and family will be there to support me. For that I am blessed. I will continue to learn, to teach, to coach and to develop people and communities that are more than clients and athletes.

Full heart, clear eyes, steady hands.

See you soon.

CrossFit Jääkarhu is a local community in Austin, Texas that is focused on identifying goals, coaching progress and getting results. If you are interested in learning more about our gym, visit our main website (click here). About CrossFit Jääkarhu Programs Available How to Start

Posted in Uncategorized
8 comments on “14.09.23
  1. corypratt says:

    Best of luck to you coach. I’ve followed your programming from the great state of Oregon for a couple years now out of my garage and it’s always been the first I recommend. Cheers.

  2. Sarah says:

    Good Luck Coach. I’m proud to say I worked with you as long as I did. You taught me to push through when all else pushed against. Thanks for that. Blessings to you and yours.

  3. Ben says:

    Best of luck Coach! Shadowed your programming/blog for years since I first got to be coached by you way back in the day at an Outlaw camp, and it’s been a wealth of knowledge ever since. Excited to see what the future brings!

  4. Brian Sullivan says:

    Best of luck!! Without CC we would have never met and I am grateful for our friendship. I am excited to see what the future holds and you know I will be right there for you guys to capture it if desired. Hope to see you soon!… Sullivan

  5. I was curious if you ever considered changing
    the structure of your site? Its very well written; I love
    what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people
    could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having
    one or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  6. Debbie E says:

    I’m going to miss your great smile and boundless inspiration! I consider myself blessed to know you and to have been in your class five years ago. You encouraged me when I needed it most and I will always be grateful to you for that. Best of luck to you in all you do!

Leave a Reply

The CrossFit Games
2014 Reebok CrossFit GamesJuly 25th, 2014
Prepare.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 251 other followers

CrossFit Jääkarhu
Follow me on Twitter
Follow me on Instagram
Early Thursday Coffee x 2
Coach Winchester

